Rainbow Jello Shots

This past weekend marked the beginning of my last spring break as a college student. Although I am not going to a tropical paradise like many of my fellow classmates, I am still excited over the free time that I will have this week. My good friend, Kyle, recently turned 22, and what better way to celebrate this occasion than some fun, rainbow jello shots?

Here is what you will need:

Vodka or Rum
3 packs jello (one flavor of each color: red, yellow, & blue)
Mini-muffin pan
1 cup measuring cup
Vegetable Oil
Water

First Step:

Grease mini-muffin pan with vegetable oil, and wipe off with paper towel to leave slight residue for easy removal. Pour red jello mixture into large bowl in preparation.

Second Step:

Bring 1 cup water to a boil and add to jello mix, stirring for about 5 minutes until dissolved.

Third Step:

Add 1 cup alcohol of your choice (I chose to use Bacardi Rum because it’s my favorite), and stir. Ladle liquid into the mini-muffin pan, filling a little less than a third full, and refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Fourth Step: 

Remove your mini-muffin pan from the refrigerator and repeat the same process for the yellow jello mix, gently ladling over the red layer. Refrigerate for another 20 minutes.

Fifth Step:

Repeat process for the blue jello mix. Refrigerate now for several hours or overnight so that the layers can adhere together.

Final Step:

Remove from fridge, and gently pull to loosen the sides of the jello (I found running a toothpick around the edges useful for this) to pop them out. Enjoy these beautiful, rainbow jello shots with friends!

Tips:

  • Choose flavors that sound good together. I opted for pineapple over lemon for my yellow flavor, as it sounded like it would go better with the other berry flavors to me.
  • Stay away from flavored vodkas if you choose to go that route, since there are already several flavor combinations going on with this jello shot.
  • This recipe is decently strong, so I would suggest using less alcohol and more water if you want “better tasting” jello shots.

Leave a Reply

